To the knowledge base

Loading the FRITZ!Box factory settings

You want to restore the FRITZ!Box to factory settings? ✔ Here we show you how to easily reset.

Load the factory settings to delete all of the individual settings you have made in your FRITZ!Box. This makes sense if you are going to use the FRITZ!Box at a different location or are planning to pass it on to another user, for example. In addition, this deletes incorrect settings that prevent the FRITZ!Box from working correctly.

You can either use the user interface or a telephone connected to the FRITZ!Box to load the factory settings.

Note:All instructions on configuration and settings given in this guide refer to the latest FRITZ!OS for the FRITZ!Box.

1 Loading the factory settings with the user interface

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Factory Settings" tab.
  4. Click the "Load Factory Settings" button.
  5. During this process, all of the LEDs flash once. The WLAN LED remains lit as soon as the factory settings have finished loading.

2 Loading factory settings with a telephone

IP telephones, for example FRITZ!App Fon, cannot send key commands to the FRITZ!Box. Therefore, you cannot use IP telephones to load the factory settings:

  1. Enter #991*15901590* on the telephone and press the call key (pick up the handset).
  2. Hang up again after about 3 seconds.
  3. During this process, all of the LEDs flash once. The WLAN LED remains lit as soon as the factory settings have finished loading.