To the knowledge base

Saving and restoring the FRITZ!Box settings

You can save the settings of your FRITZ!Box in a backup file and use it to restore all or only certain settings, if necessary.

If you restore the backup file in a different FRITZ!Box, only the basic settings like internet access, telephone numbers, and Wi-Fi settings are applied. The FRITZ!Box receives a new MyFRITZ! address and advanced settings (for example online telephone books, VPN connections) must be reconfigured.

When switching to a new FRITZ!Box, we recommend using the wizard for easy FRITZ!Box switching that lets you transfer all of your settings to a new FRITZ!Box. With the wizard, all additional FRITZ! products can be used with the new FRITZ!Box without having to register or configure them.

Note:You can also have the push service save your settings automatically. The "Save Settings" push service automatically sends an email with the backup file before every update and each time the factory settings are loaded.

Requirements / Restrictions

  • When restoring the backup file in a different FRITZ!Box, the FRITZ!OS version of the other FRITZ!Box must be at least as high as the FRITZ!OS version of the old FRITZ!Box.

Note:All instructions on configuration and settings given in this guide refer to the FRITZ!Box 6820 LTE v2 and v3 with the latest FRITZ!OS, the FRITZ!Box 6820 LTE v1 may vary.

1 Saving settings of the FRITZ!Box

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Save" tab.
  4. Enter a password.

    Tip:Keep the password in a safe place! The backup file can be used only after the password has been entered.

  5. Click "Save" and confirm that the procedure may be executed on the FRITZ!Box, if you are asked to do so.
  6. Save the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" on your computer.

2 Restoring the FRITZ!Box settings

  1. Click "System" in the FRITZ!Box user interface.
  2. Click "Backup" in the "System" menu.
  3. Click on the "Restore" tab.
  4. Click the "Browse..." or "Choose File" button.
  5. Select the file "FRITZ.Box[...].export" with the settings you want to restore.
  6. Enter the password you entered when saving the file.
  7. If you want to restore the settings in the same FRITZ!Box, enable the setting "Restore all of the settings".
    • If you want to restore the settings to a different FRITZ!Box or only want to restore certain settings, enable the option "Select manually the settings to be restored".
  8. Click the "Restore" button.
  9. On the FRITZ!Box,confirm that the procedure may be executed, if you are asked to do so.
  10. If it is the same FRITZ!Box, all of the settings will now be applied.
    • If it is a different FRITZ!Box or you enabled the option "Select manually...", enable the settings you would like to import and click "Apply".